Back to top

Latest energy efficient cooling products recognised in DCS Awards

Latest energy efficient cooling products recognised in DCS Awards

Date: 04th April 2014  |   Posted by: Airedale Team  |   Posted in: Press release

Airedale Air Conditioning, Leeds, UK, April 4, 2014

Finalists in this year’s Data Centre Solutions Awards have now been announced and British manufacturer, Airedale International, is pleased to have been shortlisted for two of its latest high performance cooling products.

The SmartCool™ dedicated chilled water precision air conditioning (PAC) system has been nominated in no less than two categories: ‘Datacentre Power & Cooling Product of the Year’ and ‘Datacentre Energy Efficiency Product of the Year’.

With an ESEER  approaching 6.16, up to 50% higher than a traditional screw chiller, the Turbochill™ and Turbochill™ FreeCool is also on the shortlist of finalists for ‘Datacentre Energy Efficiency Product of the Year’.

Developed to meet demand for a high performance, ultra energy-efficient, dedicated chilled water PAC system, the SmartCool™ CW SD/SN/SR (11-233kW) delivers up to 30% more cooling kW/m2 when compared with competitor units, keeping footprint to a minimum to free up premium IT space. Core to the design brief was to make the most efficient use of internal space by removing redundant mechanical cooling (DX) components which were not needed in dedicated CW units. Also key was to offer a choice of models to suit both small computer room and large data centre applications. 

The Turbochill™ and Turbochill™ FreeCool (200-1600kW) delivers industry-leading energy efficiency per footprint available from a Turbocor-based free-cooling chiller. The free-cooling units take greater advantage of the impressive part-load efficiencies available from Turbocor compressors during low load conditions or in low seasonal ambient temperatures, delivering as much as 45% more cooling at a given temperature than thermosiphon-based systems in addition to supporting free-cooling for much longer periods throughout the year.

The winners will be decided by public vote via the awards website:

Back to news section